Configuration Templates

Table of Contents

What is a Configuration Template?

A Configuration Template is a collector with saved configurations. Configuration Templates allow you to deploy a collector on a new or existing server(s) based off an existing collector’s settings. Logs, Server Tags, Polled Data, Process Groups, and Alerts from the model server can be automatically created and applied to new servers.

How they work

If you’ve set up a collector with certain configurations that you want replicate (Logs, Server Tags, Polled Data, Process Groups, and Alerts), you can create a template of that collector and automatically apply it to new or existing servers. This helps cut down configuration time so you don’t have to reconfigure every server with the same collector configurations.

How to create a Configuration Template

Navigate to Admin – Configuration Templates and click “Add a new Template” on the right side. You’ll be taken to the Edit Template page, where you first enter a Template Name and then select the model server that you want to create a template from. In this example, I’m going to create a new template for my Front End servers from the model server pod0-frontend1.

Once you select the model server, information about that server will display below. There will be tabs for Polled Data, Logs, Process Groups, Alerts, and Server Tags.

Choosing Polled Data

The Polled Data tab will display all the Polled Data scripts that are linked to the model collector chosen. If you do not wish for one or any of the scripts to be part of your template, you can uncheck them by clicking on the green checkbox.

Click Next to view the Logs for this server.

1

Choosing Logs

The Logs tab will display all the Logs that are linked to the model collector chosen. If you do not wish for one or any of the Logs to be part of your template, uncheck them by clicking on the green checkbox. At this time, if there are additional Logs you’d like to include for this template, you can add them by clicking “Add New Log” on the right side.

Click Next to view the Process Groups for this server.

2

Choosing Process Groups

The Process Groups tab will display all the Process Groups that are linked to the model collector chosen. If you do not wish for one or any of the Process Groups to be part of your template, uncheck them by clicking on the green checkbox.

Click Next to view the Alerts for this server.

3

Choosing Alerts

The Alerts tab will display all the Alerts that are linked to the model collector chosen. If you do not wish for one or any of the Alerts to be part of your template, uncheck them by clicking on the green checkbox. At this time, if there are additional Alerts you’d like to include for this template, you can add them by clicking “Add New Alert” on the right side.

Click Next to view the Server Tags for this server.

4

Choosing Server Tags

The Server Tags tab will display all the Server Tags that are linked to the model collector chosen. If you do not wish for one or any of the Server Tags to be part of your template, uncheck them by clicking on the green checkbox.

This is the last step, so click the Save Template button and you’re done.

5

How to apply a Template to a new Server

When applying a Template to a new Server, click “Download” next to the Template you want to reuse.

6

This will prompt the “Download Collector” popup where you can download the templated collector and install it on a new server. This follows the same workflow as any regular collector.

How to apply a Template to an existing Server already in AppFirst

On the Admin – Configuration Templates page, click “Apply to Servers” for the Configuration Template you want to reuse. A popup will display with a list of all your existing servers in AppFirst. Click the check mark next to the servers that you want to apply the Template to. Click the “Apply to Selected” button and you’re done.

7

How to delete a Configuration Template

In the Configuration Templates page, click the checkmark next to the Template you want to delete. Once it turns green, click “Delete Selected” above the table.